Who's who? Who's new? September 2020

Lauren Hinkel | EAPS News
Tuesday, September 8, 2020

After what was hopefully a restful Labor Day, we reconvene for the Fall semester with some fresh faces and new titles.

Congratulations to Kane Stone, who was promoted to Research Scientist in the Solomon Group and Athena Eyster, who is now a Postdoctoral Associate with the Bergmann Group. Recent EAPS PhDs Gabriela Serrato Marks from the McGee Group and Mukund Gupta of the Marshall group, rejoin us as Research Specialists; Gupta is now with the Follows group. James “Jim” Clark, a former AeroAstro grad student, is now a Research Specialist in the Seager group.

Eric RybergEric Ryberg is a Postdoctoral Associate joining the Ono group. He's interested in environmental problems at the junction of stable isotope geochemistry and environmental engineering. At MIT, he aims to enable energy storage through electromethanogenesis, as well as to better understand the isotope fractionation mechanisms at play in microbial methanogenesis in natural systems. 
Eric received his BA in Earth & Planetary Sciences and Chemistry from the Johns Hopkins University in 2015, and he completed his PhD in Environmental Engineering at Yale University in 2020. Prior to joining the MIT EAPS community, Eric researched low-cost drinking water disinfection methods for application in low-income countries. His technologies relied on edible and natural compounds that interact with sunlight to produce reactive oxygen species for pathogen inactivation.

Benedict BorerBenedict Borer joins the Babbin lab as a Postdoctoral Associate to study the biochemistry of marine sinking particles using computational and experimental approaches with a focus on the denitrification pathway. He's an environmental microbiologist with a keen interest to understand the bilateral interaction between microbial metabolism and the physico-chemical habitat both at the single cell level and at scales relevant to regional and global biogeochemical cycles. During his PhD, he have developed mathematical approaches to capture bacterial life in complex natural habitats such as soil by combining constraint based modeling with individual based approaches and complemented these in silico approaches with wetlab experiments. These efforts increased understanding of how bacteria spatially organize in response to self-engineered patchy and dynamic nutrient landscapes with consequences for community stability and function.

Borer received a BSc in Environmental Sciences from ETH (2012), an MSc in Hydrology and Water Resources from Impercial College London (2014) and a PhD in Soil Physics from ETH (2020).



Postdocs who have left:
Claire Nichols - Weiss Group
Sukrit Ragan - Seager Group
Zhan Su - Hill Group