Meeting The Challenges of the Antarctic Ozone Hole: A Global Science and Policy Success Story

Tuesday, June 5, 2018

Susan Solomon, the Lee and Geraldine Martin Professor of Environmental Studies at MIT, honored for her contributions to atmospheric science.

Crafoord Laureate 2018 Prof Susan Solomon traveled to Sweden last month to give her Prize Lecture at Lund University and receive her prize at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in the presence of H. M. King Carl XVI Gustaf and H. M. Queen Silvia of Sweden "for fundamental contributions to understanding the role of atmospheric trace gases in Earth’s climate system."

Watch the full video of her lecture:

Susan Solomon, Crafoord Laureate 2018, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA. From: The Crafoord Prize Lectures in Geosciences, 2018-05-22 - video credit: the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Back row from the left: Martin Jakobsson, Anna Manhusen, Walter Fischer, Lennart Nilsson, Margareta Nilsson, Adam Dahlberg, Stefan Bengtson and Göran K. Hansson. Front row from the left: Christina Moberg, Susan Solomon, H.M. the King of Sweden, H.M. the Queen of Sweden, Syukuro Manabe and Ebba Fischer.

Read the full press release and view photos from the event HERE

Story Photos: Markus Marcetic, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences



The Crafoord Prize is awarded in partnership between the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences and the Crafoord Foundation, with the Academy responsible for selecting the Crafoord Laureates.

2018 Crafoord Laureates Syukuro Manabe of Princeton University (left) and Susan Solomon of MIT -Image credit: Markus Marcetic, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

The disciplines encompassed by the prize, which change every year, are mathematics and astronomy, geosciences, biosciences and polyarthritis (e.g. rheumatoid arthritis), and were chosen to complement those of the Nobel Prizes.

Former EAPS professor Edward N. Lorenz (together with Henry Stommel) received the first Crafoord Prize in Geoscience in 1983. Former EAPS geosciences professor Peter Molnar was awarded the prize in 2014.