Outstanding at AGU 2015

Helen HIll
Wednesday, February 10, 2016

Four from EAPS awarded for their AGU 2015 presentations.

Congratulations to Chawalit Charoenpong, Madison Douglas, Michael McClellan, and Jaap Nienhuis, each of whom has been awarded an Outstanding Student Presentation Award (OSPA) for their poster at the Fall Meeting of the American Geophysical Union held in San Francisco in December.

Chawalit Charoenpong receives an Ocean Sciences OSPA for his poster Stable Isotope Evidence for Abiotic Ammonium Production in the Hydrothermal Vent Fluids from the Mid-Cayman Rise. Charoenpong is an MIT-WHOI Joint Program graduate student in chemical oceanography interested in marine nitrogen cycle using natural variations in isotopic ratios, such as 15N/14N and 18O/16O of NO3- and NO2-, and dissolved gas dynamics with emphasis on near-shore basins, oxygen minimum zones, estuaries and salt marshes. His advisor is Dr. Scott Wankel (WHOI.)

Undergraduate major in EAPS Madison Douglas '16 presented not one but two posters: She receives a Planetary Sciences OSPA for Analysis of Volcanic Deposits on Venus Using Radar Polarimetry work she undertook with Lynn Carter at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. A second poster Climatic and tectonic influences on ocean island erosion inferred from a global dataset reported with Perron Group mentor gadutae student Kimberly Huppert.

Michael McClellan receives an Atmospheric Sciences OSPA for his poster Measurement and Modeling of Site-specific Nitrogen and Oxygen Isotopic Composition of Atmospheric Nitrous Oxide at Mace Head, Ireland research under aegis of the AGAGE project advised by EAPS faculty Ron Prinn and Shuhei Ono in collaboration with former Prinn Group postdoc Eri Saikawa (now an Assistant Professor of Environmental Sciences at Emory University.)

Jaap Nienhuis PhD '15 receives an Earth and Planetary Surface Processes OSPA for his poster Wave-driven tidal inlet migration: mechanics and effects on barrier morphology. Nienhuis is a former marine geology and geophysics MIT-WHOI Joint Program student advised by Andrew Ashton (WHOI) and Taylor Perron (MIT). He is now a postdoctoral fellow at Tulane University continuing to study coastal geomorphology, coastal hazards, and modelling of waves and sediment transport.

You can read about all the 2015 AGU OSPA winners in Eos.


Chawalit Charoenpong

Madison Douglas

Michael McClellan

Jaap Nienhuis


Outstanding Student Paper Awards Eos

EAPS Goes to AGU EAPS News


2015 EAPS Presentations

Review the over 100 presentations EAPS members contributed HERE