Faculty Award

Helen Hill
Friday, August 2, 2013

Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Earth Sciences and Director of ERL Brad Hager has been awarded this year's Lehman Medal

EAPS' congratulations to Cecil and Ida Green Professor of Earth Sciences and Director of the Earth Resources Laboratory Brad Hager who has been awarded the American Geophysical Union's 2013 Lehmann Medal.

Hager’s research interests include the relationship between space-geodetic observations of surface deformation, earthquakes, and dynamical processes in the Earth’s interior. He has expertise on tectonic earthquakes in regional fault systems, as well as deformation and earthquakes induced by reservoir production. Hager is currently co-chair of NASA’s DESDynI Science Study Group, responsible for earthquake, hydrocarbon, and carbon sequestration applications. He is also a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He has previously been awarded the AGU's Macelwane Medal, the Woollard Award by the Geological Society of America, and the Augustus Love Medal by the European Geophysical Union.

Professor Hager earned his PhD from Harvard University in 1978 and then became a professor at Caltech’s Seismological Laboratory. He joined MIT in 1989. assuming directorship for ERL in June of 2012.

Established in 1995, the Lehmann Medal is named in honor of Inge Lehmann, who made many contributions to our understanding of the Earth’s deep interior, including her discovery of the Earth’s inner core in 1936. The Lehmann Medal is awarded not more than once annually in alternate (odd) years to an individual “for outstanding contributions to the understanding of the structure, composition, and dynamics of the Earth’s mantle and core.” Donald Helmberger was the first recipient of the Lehmann Medal in 1997.

Inge Lehmann was a Danish seismologist whose principal discovery was based on painstaking examination of seismograph records and the ability to discard unessential detail. Prior to her work, the core was assumed to be homogeneous. Lehmann showed that certain seismic waves must be associated with reflections and refractions at a discontinuity within the core and that an inner core must exist beneath the discontinuity. The inner core is now recognized to play an important role in many aspects of the Earth's deepest interior. Lehmann went on to become an authority on the structure of the Earth’s upper mantle.

Also to be congratulated in the field of Earth Sciences is atmospheric chemist Jesse Kroll (CEE), this year's winner of AGU's Macelwane Award. Both awards will be presented at the Honors Ceremony and Banquet to be held on 11 December 2013 at the Fall Meeting in San Francisco.