2013 EAPS Student Awards

Education Office
Monday, May 20, 2013

A roll-call of this year's Excellence in Teaching, Crosby, Goetze, and Rossby Award recipients presented at last Friday's Student Recognition Dinner.

The W.O Crosby Award for Sustained Excellence

in recognition of acheivement, both academic and intellectual, as well as general contributions to the Department.

T. Ben Thompson '13

The Christopher Goetze Prize for Undergraduate Research

in recognition of innovative experimental design, care in data collection, and sensitive application of results to research problems.

Shaena Berlin '13 for her thesis, Preparing an Electrodynamic Balance for Aerosol Nucleation Studies. Ms. Berlin's research was supervised by Prof. Dan Cziczo.

The Award for Excellence as an Undergraduate Teaching Assistant

in recognition of an undergraduate student teaching assistant in EAPS who has been selected by faculty and students to have met the highest standards of performance.

Ann Alampi '14
Ryan Keating '13

The Award for Excellence in Teaching

in recognition of graduate student teaching assistants in EAPS who have been selected by faculty and students to have met the highest levels of performance.

Allison Wing
Tim Cronin
Erin Shea
Ann Bauer

Katherine French 

The Carl-Gustaf Rossby Award

in recognition of the best PhD thesis completed the preceding year within the Program in Atmospheres, Oceans, and Climate. 

Laura Meredith, PhD'13 for Field Measurement of the Fate of Atmospheric H2 in a Forest Environment: From Canopy to Soil. Laura Meredith's thesis work was supervised by Prof. Ron Prinn. Meredith is currently a continuing postdoc in EAPS. You can read more about her PhD work here

Malte Jansen, PhD'13 for Equilibration of an Atmosphere by Geostrophic Turbulence. Malte Jansen's thesis work was supervised by Prof. Raffaele Ferrari. Jansen is now a NOAA Climate and Global Change Postdoctoral Fellow working with Isaac Held at the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory (GFDL)/ Princeton on polar amplification of climate signals read more

Previous Years Awards