Doctoral Program

The doctoral degrees conferred by the department are the Sc.D. (Doctor of Science) and the Ph.D. (Doctor of Philosophy). The Ph.D. and the Sc.D. degrees are awarded interchangeably in the department and the student can choose which degree they receive. There is no difference in academic program for the Ph.D. or the Sc.D. Both doctoral degrees take approximately five years to complete. The first two years concentrate on course work and preparing for the General Exam, and the final three years are centered on the doctoral thesis.

Last Updated: August 2019