Research Seminars

Chemical Oceanography, Geology, Geochemistry, and Geobiology Seminar [COG3]

The Chemical Oceanography, Geology, Geochemistry, and Geobiology Seminar [COG3] is a student-run seminar series. Topics include chemical oceanography, geology, geochemistry, and geobiology. The seminars take place on Fridays from 10-11am in Building E25, Room 119, unless otherwise noted (term-time only). 2017/2018 co-ordinators: Marjorie Cantine (mcantine@gmail.com), Gabi Serrato Marks (gserrato@mit.edu), Jeemin Rhim (jrhim@mit.edu), Billy Shinevar (shinevar@mit.edu) and Maya Stokes (mstokes@mit.edu).

Friday Informal Seminar Hour [FISH, Earth Resources Laboratory]

The Friday Informal Seminar Hour [FISH, Earth Resources Laboratory] is a postdoc-run weekly seminar series within the ERL. Topics include research relating to geophysics, and in particular seismology, with applications in Earth resources exploration such as e.g. seismics exploration, microseismicity, earthquake physics, and Earth imaging techniques. The seminars usually take place on Fridays at 12 noon in 54-209 (term-time only). 2016/2017 co-ordinators: William Frank (wfrank@mit.edu), Chen Gu (guchch@mit.edu), Joshua Kastorf (jkastorf@mit.edu)

MIT Atmospheric Science Seminar [MASS]

The MIT Atmospheric Science Seminar (MASS) is an informal student-run weekly seminar series within PAOC. Seminar topics include all research concerning the atmosphere and climate, but also talks about e.g. societal impacts of climatic processes. The seminars usually take place on Fridays from 10-11am in 54-923. The presentations are either given by an invited speaker or by a member of PAOC and can focus on new research or discussion of a paper of particular interest. 2016/2017 co-ordinator: Martin Wolf (mjwolf@mit.edu)

Oceanography and Climate Sack Lunch Seminar [SLS]

The MIT Oceanography and Climate Sack Lunch Seminar Series is an informal student-run seminar series within PAOC. Seminar topics include all research concerning climate, geophysical fluid dynamics, biogeochemistry, paleo-oceanography/climatology and physical oceanography. The seminars usually take place on Wednesdays from 12:10-1pm in 54-915. The presentations are either given by an invited speaker or by a member of PAOC and can focus on new research or discussion of a paper of particular interest. 2016/2017 co-ordinator: Brian Green (nmg@mit.edu)

PAOC Colloquium [PAOC]

The PAOC Colloquium is a weekly interdisciplinary seminar series that brings together the whole PAOC community. Seminar topics include all research concerning the physics, chemistry, and biology of the atmospheres, oceans and climate, but also talks about e.g. societal impacts of climatic processes. The seminars take place on Monday from 12-1pm in 54-923. Lunch is provided after the seminars to encourage students and post-docs to meet with the speaker. Besides the seminar and lunch, individual meetings with professors, post-docs, and students are arranged. 2016/2017 co-ordinators: Tom Beucler (tbeucler@mit.edu), Deepa Rao (drao@mit.edu), Madeleine Youngs (myoungs@mit.edu) and Catherine Wilka (cwilka@mit.edu)

Planetary Lunch Colloquium Series [PlCS]

The MIT Planetary Lunch Colloquium Series [PlCS] is a weekly seminar series organized within the EAPS department. Colloquia topics span the range of research interests of the department's planetary sciences research program. The seminars usually take place on Tuesdays from 12:30-1:30 pm in 54-517 unless otherwise noted (term-time only). Speakers include members of the MIT community and visitors. Talks are intended to appeal to graduate students, postdocs, research scientists, and faculty with a background in planetary science. A light lunch is provided. 2016/2017 co-ordinators: Alissa Michelle Earle (aearle@mit.edu), John Brooks Biersteker (jo22395@mit.edu), Jason Soderblom (jms4@mit.edu), Benjamin Weiss (bpweiss@mit.edu), Margaret Lankow (mlankow@mit.edu)